Vibrant India - Indian States & Places.
  Andaman & Nicobar Is.
Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Vicas Directory > Regional > Asia > India > Union Territory: Andaman and Nicobar Islands.


       Andaman & Nicobar Islands is an Union Territory of India. There are 2 Districts, 9 Panchayat Blocks, and 65 Panchayat Villages in this State. There are 3 Cities and Towns in this Union Territory.  This Union Territory is situated between 6 and 14 North Latitude and 92 and 94 East Longitude. The group of 572 islands/ Islets lies in the Bay of Bengal, 193 km from Cape Negaris in Burma (Myanmar), 1,255 km from Kolkata and 1,190 km from Chennai. Two principal groups of islets are Ritchie's Archipelago and Labyrinth Islands. The Nicobar Islands are situated to the south of Andamans, 121 km from Little Andaman Island. There are 38 inhabited islands, including 25 in the Andaman district and 13 in the Nicobar district.  

WILDLIFE: There are 96 Wildlife Sanctuaries, 9 National Parks and 1 Biosphere Reserve in these Islands. 

Mammals - Out of 55 terrestrial and 7 Marine mammal species reported so far, 32 species are endemic. 

Birds - As many as 246 species and sub species of birds are reported to inhabit these Islands, and of these, 99 species and sub species are endemic. 

Reptiles - There are 76 terrestrial reptiles of these 24 species are endemic. 

Marine Life - Islands Harbour more than 1,200 species of fish, 350 species of echinoderms, 1,000 species of mollusks and many more lower forms of life. Among vertebrates dugongs, dolphins, whales, salt water crocodiles, sea turtles, sea snakes, etc., are common. Coral and Coral reefs – So far, 179 species of corals belonging to 61 genera have been reported. Reefs are mostly fringing type on eastern coast and barrier type on the western coast.




Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.

  Today, there have been 2 visitors (17 hits) on this page!  
This website was created for free with Would you also like to have your own website?
Sign up for free